Did Chidambaram, Pranab hide election expense?


Pranab Mukherjee was given Rs 15 lakh for his campaign in 2009 by the Congress but he declared he got no such sum. P Chidambaram, Sriprakash Jaiswal and others were given an average of Rs 10 lakh each by their party for election campaign but they too have denied getting any such sum.
Parties usually hand out a lumpsum to its candidates towarda election expenditure. However analysis of the statements of 388 MP’s as per their election expenditure statement would indicate that every party has lied on this issue.
The Association for Democratic Reforms points out the discrepancy in this report.

A total of 388 MPs’ expenditure statements were analysed and out of 277 MPs from national parties, a total of Rs 7,46,58,901 (~ Rs 7.46 crores) was declared by 75 MPs as received from their parties but the national parties have declared that Rs 14,19,12,228 (~ Rs 14.19 crores) was given to 138 MPs
Of the regional parties, a total of 15 MPs from 12 different parties and belonging to 9 different states have mentioned various amounts as received from their respective parties which do not match with the affidavits submitted by the parties
Party-wise breakup of differences:
Out of 123 MPs to whom INC has declared to have given lumpsum amounts for election expenditure, 81 MPs have declared NIL amount received. Pranab Mukherjee who was given Rs. 15 lacs as declared by the party, has mentioned that no lump sum amount was received for his election expenses. Others include Subodh Kant Sahay, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Manish Tewari, Sachin Pilot, P. Chidambaram, Beni Prasad Verma, etc
BJP, on the other hand, reports that they did not financially support even one winning candidate but 25 MPs declared that they received a total of Rs 2,75,49,383 (~Rs2.75 crores) from their party.
INC declared having given Rs 4.5 lakhs each to 2 MPs, Rs 5 lakhs each to 2 MPs, Rs 10 lakhs each to 116 MPs, Rs 15 lakhs each to 2 MPs and Rs 25 lakhs to 1 MP for their election expenditure.
CPM declared having given a total of Rs 20.68 lakhs to 3 MPs, each receiving amounts below Rs 10 lakhs and Rs 144.60 lakhs to 10 MPs, each receiving more than Rs 10 lakhs.

Ministers’ declaration of election expenditure:
A total of Rs 3,45,50,000 (~Rs 3.45 crores) was given by INC to its 33 Ministers. 22 Ministers have declared they received no amount while only 4 have declared the same amount as their party’s declaration
Sriprakash Jaiswal (Minister of Coal), Dinsha Patel (Minister of Mines), Chidambaram (Minister of Finance) among 23 others have declared that they received no lumpsum amount from their parties while INC declared they gave a total of Rs 2.35 crores or an average of Rs 10 lakhs to these 23 MPs.

One thought on “Did Chidambaram, Pranab hide election expense?

  1. Rs 15 Lakh?… really… I think it is good for Pranab’s stature that he never revealed such meager fund being allocated for an election campaign… even my grandmother would have laughed & made a mockery of this.. anything that doesn’t run in Crores should not be even talked about … 🙂


Post your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.