Patnaik gives HDK swearing in a miss, wants nothing to do with Congress-BJP

naveenpatnaikOdisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik did not attend the swearing-in of HD Kumaraswamy as the chief minister of Karnataka today as the BJD maintains an equal distance from the Congress and the BJP, a party leader said. Patnaik, who is the BJD president, did not attend the swearing-in in Bengaluru that was held on Wednesday.

Read more 

The real reason why KCR is skipping the H D Kumaraswamy swearing in ceremony

kcr-hdkThe list of those attending the swearing-in-ceremony of H D Kumaraswamy is a star studded one. The Chief Ministers of Odisha and Telangana, Naveen Patnaik and K Chandrashekar Rao will however give the event a skip.

Read more 

The swearing-in

Supporters of new Karnataka CM dancing outside Raj Bhavan

04.44 pm

Celebrations are over and now time for work. Sadananda Gowda leaves for the Vidhan Soudha to his office. He will address the media at 5 and then he has his task cut out. The most important of them being pacifying Shettar and company.

04.32 pm

D B Sadananda Gowda has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka by Governor H R bhardwaj. No prolonged speeches and the swearing in was complete in less than a minute.

04. 26 pm

The Yeddyurappa faction is present in full strength at the Raj Bhavan even as the clear split in the BJP is very visible.
There is dancing outside the Raj Bhavan by Gowda supporters even as the members of the Shettar camp continue to sulk at their homes.

04.16 pm

Sadananda Gowda has arrived at the Raj Bhavan and will be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka. He is now accompanied by a very dull looking K S Eshwarappa who made a last minute entry even as Shettar and others hold out and have not come in as yet.

04.10 pm

Some peace for Sadananda Gowda as K S Eshwarappa arrives at Raj Bhavan.

04.02 pm

Sadananda Gowda has just left for Raj Bhavan to be sworn in as the CM of Karnataka. The rivals have not budged as yet. Raj Bhavan has a very small crowd. The rivals are holed up in the houses of Jagadish Shettar and K S Eshwarappa. Their demand- let the high command decide on who gets what ministry. Gowda however says let us decide here. But Shettar says if you decide your faction will walk away with the plum posts.

03.35 pm

There is trouble in the Karnataka BJP yet again. The big question is whether the Jagadish Shettar camp will take part in the swearing in ceremony and till we last heard from the BJP’s inner circles the rival camp is threatening to boycott the function to be held at the Raj Bhavan at 4.30 PM.

Hectic efforts are on to pacify the Shettar faction to arrive at Raj Bhavan and participate in the function, but there have been no positive results as yet for the Yeddyurappa faction.